top of page

eTA's no longer required for American Citizens/Lawful Permanent Residents Travelling by Air

In today's Notice, IRCC confirmed that as of today's date, being April 26, 2022, American Citizens/Lawful Permanent Residents of the US will no longer require an eTA when travelling to or crossing through Canada by air.

As many recent travelers to Canada are aware, as of March 15, 2016, Electronic Travel Authorization (also referred to as an “eTA”), became a requirement for any visa-exempt foreign national who were flying to or transiting through Canada.

Valid for 5 years or until the applicant’s passport expires, whichever occurs sooner, the eTA requirement made it mandatory for all visa-exempt foreign nationals who are exempt from the requirement of obtaining a Temporary Resident Visa to apply for an eTA instead, through IRCC’s online electronic system prior to travelling to Canada by air.

So, what has changed?

Given the current change, American Citizens, or those holding valid Permanent Residency in the US, will no longer be required to complete the current eTA requirement, whether they are flying to Canada or not.

Subsequently, US foreign nationals will now only require the following documents prior to entering Canada:

1. official proof of their status in the U.S. (or an equivalent status document such as a valid green card or a valid I-551 [ADIT] stamp in their passport), and

2. a valid passport from their country of nationality

It should be noted, however, that the following countries still require eTAs prior to travelling to Canada by air:

  • Andorra

  • Australia

  • Austria

  • Bahamas

  • Barbados

  • Belgium

  • Brunei Darussalam

  • Bulgaria

  • British overseas territories whose citizens derive their citizenship through birth, descent, naturalization or registration in that territory:

  • Anguilla

  • Bermuda

  • British Virgin Islands

  • Cayman Islands

  • Falkland Islands

  • Gibraltar

  • Montserrat

  • Pitcairn Island

  • Saint Helena

  • Turks and Caicos Islands

  • Chile

  • Croatia

  • Cyprus

  • Czech Republic

  • Denmark

  • Estonia

  • Finland

  • France

  • Germany (Federal Republic of)

  • Greece

  • Hungary

  • Iceland

  • Ireland

  • Italy

  • Japan

  • Korea (Republic of)

  • Latvia

  • Liechtenstein

  • Lithuania

  • Luxembourg

  • Malta

  • Mexico

  • Monaco

  • Netherlands

  • New Zealand

  • Norway

  • Papua New Guinea

  • Poland

  • Portugal

  • Romania (electronic passport holders only)

  • Samoa

  • San Marino

  • Singapore

  • Slovakia

  • Slovenia

  • Solomon Islands

  • Spain

  • Sweden

  • Switzerland

  • United Arab Emirates

  • United Kingdom (including British overseas citizens who are re-admissible to the United Kingdom)

In closing, as Canada continues to open its borders to international travel, IRCC has once again demonstrated their commitment to smoothing out our current immigration system, saving money and time for our southern neighbours while travelling in the meantime.

**It should be noted that Foreign Nationals not identified in the above list require Temporary Resident Visas to enter Canada regardless of the method of travel. As such, if you’re interested in travelling to Canada in the next coming months, contact Border Law to ensure you’re exempt from the eTA requirement**

This update has been compiled with the latest available information for the general information of Border Law clients and other interested parties. This Update is not comprehensive and should not be relied upon without appropriate legal advice.


bottom of page